Disposal Approval takes place in two stages in Records365: firstly the Records Manager assigns an Approver and submits records for disposal (see Disposal), the Disposal Approver approves or rejects the items assigned to them, and finally the Records Manager completes the destruction of approved items.
Assigning Disposal Approvers does not automatically grant those users access to Records365. Users need to be a member of a Security Profile that includes the Approve Disposals action. See Security Profiles for more information.
Once a Record Manager has assigned items ready for disposal to a Disposal Approver, they will receive an email containing a link to the Disposal page. This page contains the My Approval View which lists out all the items assigned to the currently logged in user that require action for Disposal Approval.
Upon selecting one or more items, the user can then approve or reject all of those items for disposal. When rejecting a selection of items, comments must be provided so that records manager can take the appropriate next steps. Once items have been either approved or rejected they will no longer appear in the user’s My Approval View. After the approval has been actioned, the Records Manager will take the next steps in the disposal process.
Disposal Approvers can also use the Advanced Search capabilities of Records365 from the My Approval View should they require. This can be useful when working with large numbers of items for approval.
The record Quick Summary is available for Disposal Approvers by clicking on any row in the My Approval View grid, and is tailored to their context such that they can see who was the original author and which content source the records were submitted from. The Location field also allows a Disposal Approver to view the content (if available) in its original location in the Content Source. Finally, the full record details are available by clicking on the link in the ‘Title’ column in the grid for any record.
To approve or reject items for Disposal Approval: